My Favorite Posts (So Far)

Several of my friends and relatives—okay, all of them—have complained that I post too much. Because I care, and only for that reason, I am going to take a Spring Break from posting until Monday, April 7 so that you can rest up and catch up on posts you may have missed.  Below are my favorites from the year so far.

For a snapshot of the very different circumstances in which children are being educated, compare these posts:

Voice!

What’s the Difference Between Wealth and Money?

It Really Does Take a Village (or a Community)

For my analysis of why teachers in underserved communities have a more complex job and need more resources, read these two:

Why Teachers In Underserved Communities Should Be Paid More.  A Lot More.

The Invisible Curriculum

For snapshots of the different circumstances in which children are growing up, compare these posts:

Developing an Identity: A Student’s Story

Give Students a Chance by Getting to Know Them

Four Years Later–what stays with you from high school?

Four Years Later, Part II

For my views on teacher effectiveness and evaluations:

What’s Effective Teaching?

In Search of Lost Time

Finally, in case you missed my most popular post ever, read my interview with the fabulously funny and wise Roxanna Elden in Why The Great Teacher Myth Doesn’t Help Kids.

Enjoy your spring break!  Wear sunscreen!

 

 

 

For my commentary on the highly specialized skills needed to teach students in high-needs areas, read these posts:

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Posts (So Far)”

  1. These selections are great — illuminating and thought provoking! Every time I read one I’m left with things to ponder. I learn, and my point of view is changed.

    You take us inside classrooms in broken neighborhoods, introduce us to the students in them, and show us the immense challenges that face their teachers. You are open-minded and generous, even with people who you oppose. Your work takes us beyond “our purpose is to increase student learning” and helps us begin to understand what learning actually is.

    Truly, your work should be read by educational policymakers all the way up to Arne Duncan and the President himself, once he has Putin reined in.

    Your writing is fresh and energetic and crystal clear. Your commitment and passion jump off the screen. And, all of it is seasoned with humor! Bravo!

    But it’s *still* too much for me to manage! Would you be able to provide excerpts?

    1. Robin, thank you so much for this extraordinarily kind feedback! I’m really honored to be just one step below Putin in importance! Seriously, thank you. I’m so glad you enjoy the blog. I’m way behind in posts and other work, but if I have time to post excerpts, I will. In the meantime, thank you so much for the support–it means so much to me!

Leave a Reply

